Feit Electric A19 Smart vs Feit Electric A19 Motion Sensor: Which Bulb Fits the Room

Why there are Amazon links here: Brave Review is paid a commission for qualifying Amazon purchases made through the links below. Your price does not change, and using our links is entirely optional. How this works

Feit Electric A19 Smart vs Feit Electric A19 Motion Sensor: Which Bulb Fits the Room

The Feit Electric A19 Smart and the Feit Electric A19 Motion Sensor are both 60-watt-equivalent A19 bulbs with an E26 base, and that is where the similarity ends. One is an app-controlled color bulb that answers to Alexa and Google; the other turns itself on when something moves and never needs a phone. This comparison covers how they differ on control, color, installation and everyday use, then names the buyer each one suits.

The short answer for a reader in a hurry: the smart three-pack is the pick for a room where lighting gets scheduled, dimmed and recolored, and the motion sensor is the pick for a hallway, porch or closet that should light up without anyone reaching for a switch.

Feit Electric A19 Smart: The App-Controlled Color Bulb

Feit Electric A19 Smart 3-Pack

Feit ElectricWi-Fi 2.4GHz, Works with Alexa & Google, App Dimmable, E26 800 Lumens, Tunable White 2700-6500K, CRI 90, Wifi LED Lightbulbs Smart Light Bulbs, A19 RGBW Color Changing - 60W Eq - 3 Pack

Connection: Wi-Fi, 2.4GHz
Voice Control: Works with Alexa and Google
Dimming: App dimmable
Base: E26
Brightness: 800 lumens, 60W equivalent
Color: Tunable white 2700–6500K plus RGBW color changing
Color Rendering: CRI 90
Pack Size: 3 bulbs

This is a bulb built around control. The 2.4GHz Wi-Fi radio means no hub and no bridge, so each bulb joins the home network directly and the app handles on/off, dimming, white color temperature and full RGBW color. The tunable white range runs from a warm 2700K evening tone to a cool 6500K daylight, and CRI 90 keeps colors looking natural at a brightness that matches a standard 60-watt bulb.

The three-pack pricing structure is the real argument. Smart bulbs are usually bought in multiples anyway — a lamp, a ceiling fixture, a pair of nightstands — and a multi-pack brings the per-bulb cost down while keeping every bulb on the same app and the same voice commands. Scheduling and scenes are where this bulb earns its place: wake-up ramps, evening dimming and color changes for movie nights all happen without touching a switch.

Trade-off: Every routine depends on the 2.4GHz Wi-Fi network and the app staying available, so a router outage or a guest who does not know the setup leaves the room with a bulb that behaves like an ordinary one.

Check the current price on Amazon

Feit Electric A19 Motion Sensor: The Bulb That Switches Itself

Feit Electric A19 Motion Sensor

Feit ElectricAdjustable White, 800 Lumens, 90+ CRI, 8.8W, 17,000-Hour Lifetime, Indoor/Outdoor Security and Porch Lighting A19 LED Motion Sensor Light Bulb, 60W Eq, 5CCT, E26 Base

Type: Motion sensor LED bulb
Intended Use: Indoor/outdoor security and porch lighting
Base: E26
Brightness: 800 lumens, 60W equivalent
Wattage: 8.8W
Color: Adjustable white, 5CCT
Color Rendering: 90+ CRI
Rated Life: 17,000 hours

This bulb puts the sensor inside the glass. It screws into any standard E26 socket and then works on its own — no app, no account, no network — turning on when motion is detected and going dark again afterward. Feit rates it for indoor and outdoor security and porch use, which is exactly the job description: a light that comes on when someone walks up rather than one that burns all evening.

The 5CCT adjustable white setting is a quiet advantage. The same bulb can be set warm for a covered porch and cooler for a utility area, and because the setting lives in the bulb, it holds without any smart-home layer. At 8.8 watts for 800 lumens, the running cost is negligible, and the 17,000-hour rating means years of service in a spot that only lights up intermittently.

Trade-off: The sensor is the only switch, so a reader who wants dimming, scheduling or remote control gets none of it — and a bulb mounted where it cannot see the approach will trigger late or not at all.

Check the current price on Amazon

Side-by-Side Specifications

Specification Feit Electric A19 Smart Feit Electric A19 Motion Sensor
Control Method Wi-Fi app, Alexa, Google Built-in motion sensor
Base E26 E26
Brightness 800 lumens, 60W equivalent 800 lumens, 60W equivalent
Wattage Not stated in name 8.8W
Color Tunable white 2700–6500K, RGBW Adjustable white, 5CCT
Color Rendering CRI 90 90+ CRI
Dimming App dimmable Sensor on/off only
Pack Size 3 bulbs Single bulb
Best Room Living room, bedroom, lamp Porch, hallway, closet, garage

How the Two Bulbs Compare

The first dividing line is how each bulb gets told what to do. The smart bulb is a device on the network: commands arrive from an app or a voice assistant, and every behavior — brightness, white tone, color, schedule — is a setting a person chooses. The motion sensor bulb is autonomous. It makes its own decision based on what its sensor sees, and there is nothing to configure beyond the white color setting. Buyers who like tuning a space will find the first satisfying and the second limiting; buyers who want a light to simply work will feel the reverse.

Color is the second gap. The smart bulb covers the full tunable white range plus RGBW, so it can be a warm reading light at night and a saturated accent color for a party. The motion sensor offers adjustable white in five presets, which is enough to match a porch to the rest of the exterior lighting but offers no color at all. Neither bulb is a color-accurate work light, though both carry strong color rendering scores for household use.

Installation favors the motion sensor by a wide margin. It screws in and is finished. The smart bulbs need the 2.4GHz Wi-Fi network, the app, and a few minutes per bulb to pair and name — multiplied by three in the pack. That setup is a one-time cost, but it is a real one, and it is the reason the smart bulbs suit a patient buyer rather than someone replacing a bulb in a hurry.

Reliability expectations split along the same line. A motion sensor has no cloud dependency and no firmware, so it behaves the same on day 500 as on day one, as long as the sensor has a clear view of the approach. The smart bulbs depend on the router, the app and the vendor’s service, and a network change means re-pairing. That is not a defect — it is the nature of a connected bulb — but it belongs in the decision.

Finally, the pack sizes point at different purchase patterns. The three-pack assumes a project: several fixtures, one app, one routine. The single motion sensor assumes a spot: one porch, one stairwell, one closet. A reader replacing one bulb in one socket is not served by a three-pack, and a reader wiring a whole room is not served by buying singles.

Which Should You Buy?

Choose the Feit Electric A19 Smart if the room is one where lighting gets adjusted — a living room, bedroom or lamp — and voice control, dimming, tunable white and color are worth a few minutes of app setup per bulb. The three-pack suits a buyer outfitting several fixtures at once and keeping them on one routine.

Choose the Feit Electric A19 Motion Sensor if the socket is in a hallway, closet, garage, stairwell or covered porch and the goal is a light that comes on by itself. It suits renters, outdoor security spots and anyone who wants zero setup and zero dependence on Wi-Fi.

Skip the smart bulb if the household has an unreliable 2.4GHz network or no interest in managing an app. Skip the motion sensor if the fixture needs dimming, scheduling, remote control or color — it does none of those.

FAQ

  1. What is the main difference between the Feit Electric A19 Smart and the Feit Electric A19 Motion Sensor?
    The smart bulb is controlled through a Wi-Fi app and voice assistants and offers full color plus tunable white. The motion sensor bulb turns itself on when it detects movement and has no app, no network and no color.

  2. Do both bulbs fit a standard lamp socket?
    Yes. Both use an E26 base, the standard screw fitting for most US lamps, ceiling fixtures and porch lights, and both are rated at 800 lumens, equivalent to a 60-watt bulb.

  3. Does the motion sensor bulb need Wi-Fi or an app?
    No. The sensor is built into the bulb, so it works in any E26 socket without a network, hub or account. That also means it cannot be controlled remotely.

  4. Can the smart bulb be dimmed with a wall switch?
    Dimming on the smart bulb is handled through the app, not a conventional dimmer switch. A standard on/off switch simply cuts power to the bulb.

  5. Which bulb is better for a porch or outdoor security light?
    The motion sensor, because it is purpose-built for indoor/outdoor security and porch lighting and switches on automatically. The smart bulb can be scheduled from an app but will not react to movement.

  6. Is the smart bulb sold individually?
    The product listed here is a three-pack. Buyers who need a single smart bulb should check whether a single-bulb listing exists before ordering.

  7. How long do these bulbs last?
    The motion sensor bulb carries a 17,000-hour rated life. The smart bulb’s rated life is not stated in its listing name, so buyers should confirm it on the product page.

  8. Can the motion sensor bulb’s white color be changed?
    Yes. It offers 5CCT adjustable white, so the color temperature can be set to match the surrounding lighting. It does not offer RGB color.

Bottom Line

These two bulbs solve different problems and rarely compete for the same socket. For a room where light is part of the atmosphere — dimmed, scheduled, recolored and voice-controlled — the Feit Electric A19 Smart three-pack is the more capable buy and the better value per bulb. For a porch, hallway or closet that should simply light up when someone walks in, the Feit Electric A19 Motion Sensor is the simpler, cheaper and more dependable answer.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top